Masked Anxiety Pt.2 – the view from behind the mask.

It was Wednesday around 1pm. I was in the post office, short of breath from restricted airways and panicked. FUCK, I’ve got Covid! Thoughts of my lungs failing, an immediate hospital visit and calling my partner to take care of my cats, flooded my mind like obsessed fans in a mosh pit. WHAT HAPPENS IF I DIE????? Who will adopt my cats? FUCK FUCK  … fuck, I am wearing a mask (doh!) 

Reflecting back, this was a genuine moment of panic and it made no sense at all. I have realised that I am consciously withdrawing from public spaces due to the requirement to wear a mask. As an asthmatic, I don’t ‘have to’ wear a mask, but to be honest I’d rather wear it than have to explain to every Karen why I am not. The need to continually justify myself to others requires too much energy and patience, both of which are wearing thin. If you read the last blog you’ll be aware of the anxiety my clients have been going through. This week reached a whole new level – and I unintentionally came along for the ride.

I have an autistic counselling client who has sensory struggles. If you’re not aware of what that means, read this from Autism Spectrum Australia before making a judgment I touched briefly on this topic in my last blog, but this particular client’s situation frustrates me. For a long time my client struggled to secure employment, a side effect of their autism diagnosis. Thankfully this client now has a job and is very good at it, but has to wear a mask because, even though regulations excuse the requirement to mask up, society believes otherwise. Explaining it and dealing with the looks of disgust is just too much for this client to deal with, and why should they have to? They shouldn’t. Unfortunately though not everyone is on the same page and when it comes to the facts, many mis-interpret via their own agenda or are led by the scaremongering mainstream media. (Side note – Channel 7, 9 A current Affair and the project are fucking appalling forms of biased media and should be treated as nothing more than a government means of conditioning and controlling the vulnerable.)

I digress. Let’s dial back to paragraph one and my recent Covid (not Covid) scare. It took only seconds to recognise the cause of my spontaneous breathing issues (the PPE securely suctioned to my face). What I have not confirmed conclusively is whether the cause is from the device itself or the cocktail of chemicals they use to make them. I am confident I am not the only one to ponder whether they (unknown chemicals) are worse than what I was breathing in pre-covid? Over the last decade I have become accustomed to the restrictions of a training mask whilst preparing for a marathon or Spartan race. I’ll regularly use a Training Mask when training, especially cycling. But I’ve NEVER experienced the discomfort and restrictive breathing the Covid required masks deliver.

What are you trying to say Joel? Shit or get off the pot!

I guess I’m asking you all to question the current situation with your own logical, mature, realistic and empathetic consciousness. Think for yourself, instead of with fear. If you do need to be updated with “the news” I’d guide you towards SBS or ABC for a better, more educated analysis of any current world situation. Ellen Fanning and Julia Baird from The Drum @abcthedrum are currently my go to sources. 

And as I encouraged in my last blog, please take a moment to put yourself in the place of someone who has severe chronic anxiety or disability issues. Not everyone who isn’t wearing a mask, is rebelling against the system. Think of the impact wearing these masks has on their day to day experience of life. Think about the lack of social empathy and choose how you will contribute to it – positively or negatively. I believe the mental health of millions is taking an incidental hammering and what we will see is a trauma that has and will extend well beyond 2019, 2020 and 21.

Should you find yourself in circumstances that raise some concerns for you or you feel like you need help or support please contact me on 0492 851 205 or via the links page here. I will be offering half price online counselling appointments to new clients during lockdown periods.

Please also check out these links from Mind.

Why wearing masks can cause difficult feelings.

 Anxiety – Tips for coping with masks and face coverings.

So remember kids, be safe, wear a mask, but don’t be complacent. Just because you’ve had the vaccine, doesn’t mean you can’t catch or spread the virus. 

Joel A Rogers

activecounsellingbyheartwork@yahoo.com

0492 851 205

Leave a comment